Welcome to California

I haven’t been here in about 18 months.  Boy how do I miss it.  Over the weekend I went down to Santa Monica to wander around the 3rd street promenade and the pier.  It was a fun way to spend a day.  Just south of the pier is a public jungle-gym thingy.  It has ropes and monkey bars, all sized and designed for adults/gymnasts.  So, I had a great time.  There were people doing handstands, flips and all sorts of crazy acrobatic yoga.

However I did discover what might become my new obsession (I always have a few of them). Several guys had made “tight ropes” out of dynamic climbing webbing and were doing various tricks.  The big difference between climbing webbing and traditional “tight ropes” is that climbing webbing has “stretch” to it. Giving it a little bit more of a “trampoline effect”  I spent 20 minutes with these guys just playing around on these straps.  And in that time, every muscle in my lower body was screaming from the lack of stability.  It was altogether NEW workout.  One with which I fell near instantly in love.

Exercise can be very similar to playing if you know how to do it right.  Since getting here, I’ve also gone running in the hills, and surfing.  Tomorrow, I go back to my gymnastics gym that originally set my handstand fire.  I plan to surf again, run again, maybe hit a gym,  but with all of the fun stuff… who needs weights.

Leave a Reply

