Los ANGELES – Eagle Scouts

“home” is an interesting concept.  For most people, this is a somewhat, involuntary heraldry of where they were raised, or where their employment has put them (often both, i.e. “I grew up in X, but I live and work in Y now”.)

The problem arrises for me, in that I was an Army brat.  Kindergarten through 8th grade I went to a different school every year.  I’ve had places I’ve lived, places I’ve loved, places I’ve hated and everything in between.  But for me, “home” is Los Angeles.  I didn’t move there until I was 25, and only lived their 3 years before the loss of the economy forced me out.  But LA is my mother ship.  LA, is liberal, hippie, filmy, geeky, artsy awesome!  All of this is to say, right now, I sit in an airport, getting on a flight to LA for a few days. Needless to say, I’m pretty excited.

When I lived in LA, I was a Scout Master for a Boy Scout troupe in Studio City.  I only worked with the boys for about a year, but it was some of the best times I’ve had and I really loved my guys.  Today (tonight actually) one of the those guys, gets his Eagle.  So, I looked at some possibilities, opportunities and criteria, and realized that right now, I was in a unique position to be able to go and see it.

I was able to scrounge the work to make it worth it, and as I mentioned, it doesn’t take much nudging to find me a reason to go to Los Angeles.  However, this does put me back OFF my game as far as diet and exercise…. or does it?

I feel that I’ve said all of this before.  But, I’m going to say it again.  Staying in shape isn’t about punishment or abstinence from enjoyment.  Its about finding a lifestyle that works for you and your body.

Back in LA, I’ll be able to surf (oh, which I will).  I’ll be able to go hike (there are some awesome nature trails in various parks up in the hills).  But most awesomely,  in Cali, I’ll won’t have to work very hard at all to find organic foods and healthy options.  So, for the next week or so, I’ll be back on set, back in LA, back splitting cars (motorcycle thing) and back where my eating habits are not nearly as hardcore as people back east act like they are.

Leave a Reply

