Working on a new goal

So, not that all my old goals have been completed by any means, but I have found that I go through a little slump every time I “succeed” at something.  Ever since saturday’s race (for which I trained a little harder) I am having serious motivational issues.  I’m still exercising daily, but now, I don’t have the fire.

I still have the goal to run in 5 races this year.  I still have the goal to make it to 12% bodyfat.  But not having a short term, visualizable goal I find that the “get up and go” is hard to get up and go.

Goals are a farily intergal part of weight loss.  Every person wants to be “thinner”,”Stronger”, or in my case just “more attractive”.  But these are fairly subjective, maleable and ambiguous goals.  True success is predicated on benchmarks and minor successes.

Your goal can’t be “lose 60 lbs” (well, sure it can, but there has to be more to it).  You need to start with, “today, I will walk/run 2 miles in under 25 minutes”.  When we set a goal, and only make it one seemingly insurmountable goal, morale is nearly impossible to keep up.  It goes without saying (yet I’m saying it) that, most likely, we will fail.

I’ve talked about this before, but:  The other good trick is to make your goal something fun, or something you look forward to.  Not, a reward for meeting the goal, but the goal itself.  E.G.  I want to run an adventure run.  I want to hike to the top of Half Dome in Yosemite National Park.  I want to do an endless handstand.  I want to do aerial stunts at a swing dance club (that was for you Aaron).  When the goal itself is fun, and not “be thinner”  it makes it way more fun to work twords.  That way, skipping desert isn’t a punishment, but means to an end.

Never forget to have a goal.  A good one.  A fun one.  A goal that gets you out of bed in the morning.  A goal worth blogging over.

Leave a Reply

