Diet and exercise

So yesterday I didn’t “run a few miles and do a kettlebell tabata.” I didn’t for 2 main reasons.  The first is that I don’t have my kettlebell in VA, and the place I was going to borrow one was unavailable.  The 2nd is that it occured to me while preparing for my race I was doing a lot of running and light resistance, but not very much weight work at all.

So yesterday, I went to the gym and did a conventional resistance circuit.  It’s amazing how quickly you lose your edge in certain things.  I haven’t been to the gym in a little under 2 weeks and my over all ability to complete fairly basic exercises was greatly diminished.  I had to back my weight WAY down and still had trouble finishing my prescribed amount of reps.  I’m not sure what that is all about, but I need to get back on that.

I am down a lb from my lowest putting me at 190lbs.  I haven’t done a fat composition test in a while as I don’t actually own calipers, but if I had to guess I’d say I’m nearing the low side of 15%.  My goal is still to break 12% so I’m not out of the woods yet.  However, I’m starting to notice some fairly drastic changes in musculature and general shape.

So today, I do think I’m going to run, because I haven’t since saturday morning, but I think I’ll run to the gym to do some traditional workouts.

 

What are you all doing for exercise?  Ideas good!

Leave a Reply

