Day 29 – The Eternal Question Answered.

After Natalie wrote her blog today, she smuggly looked at me and said: “See, theres another reason to eat Twizzlers over Redvines”.

I smiled, and replied.  “Those ARE twizzlers.  RedVine doesnt do the laces”.

 

This got me thinking.  I’ve heard the debate my whole life.  RedVines v. Twizzlers.  I’m FIRMLY on the RedVine side, Natalie clearly on the Twizzlers.  So in that I write about health and nutrition everyday, I thought why not do a little side by side comparison.

Now, if you look at the nutritional table, you’ll actually find they are pretty close to the same.  So not much can be said there.  Each has its merits, whether it be calorie, sugar, carb or sodium content.  Pick your battle.

However, when you compare INGREDIENTS there is nearly no comparison in “health” content.

 

RedVines:

Corn Syrup, Wheat Flour, Citric Acid, Artificial Flavor, Red 40

Twizzlers:

Corn Syrup , Flour , Sugar , Cornstarch , Partially Hydrogenated Soybean Oil , Salt , Artificial Flavorings, Citric Acid, Potassium Sorbate – a Preservative , Artificial Coloring, Red 40

Ummm.  I really don’t think I need to point out anything here.  It’s pretty clear.  Unless of course you didn’t know that “Partial Hydrogenation” is pretty much poison.  I can go into detail, but its all sciencey and I’ve found I’m one of the few people that find it interesting.

Both of these options are “candy” and neither are particularly “healthy”.  But if this debate comes up on anything but the merit of taste.  Twizzlers doesn’t have a red, twisty, waxy leg to stand on.

 

 

5 Responses to “Day 29 – The Eternal Question Answered.”

  1. EXCEPT THAT TWIZZLERS TASTE BETTER!!!

  2. I’m fully and forever on the Twizzler side. Redvines are nasty, Twizzlers are awesome. Plus, they have pull and peel. Debate over.

  3. I have to think which of them i prefer as I LIKE THEM BOTH… ‘something to ponder

Leave a Reply

