Day 25 – Tabata for life

Today I wanted to tell you guys about one of my favorite types of workouts I’d forgotten I loved.  It’s called Tabata.  Tabata is a form of high intensity intreval training (or HIIT as it is often called) that works like this:

20 seconds of continuous HIGH intensity work (high intensity is self defined, but it should be HARD) then 10 seconds of rest, followed by 20 seconds of work, then  10 seconds of rest followed by 20 seconds of work etc for 8 rounds, a total of 4 minutes.  Then 1 minute water and gasping for air break.  Then repeat this cycle for a total of 5 times for a 20 minute total.

This morning went like this:

:20 – 24″ step ups with 25 lb weight
:10 – rest
:20 – Mountain climbers
:10 – rest
:20 – 35lb shoulder press on bosu ball (left)
:10 – rest (but I stayed on the bosu ball)
:20 – 35lb shoulder press on bosu ball (right)
:10 – rest
:20 – goblet squats
:10 – rest
:20 – crunches
:10 – rest
:20 – 24″ plyo jumps
:10 – rest
:20 – inverted crunches

So that took 4 minutes, I then spent 60 seconds letting the room stop spinning and drinking lots of water.  But I repeated that cycle 4 more times adding in pullups (with 60lb assistance), pushups, dips, 12lb medicine ball throws, planks and anything else I could think of.

By the end of 20 minutes my whole body was throbbing and I could feel my heart beating in my toes.

This can be applied to nearly any training methodology.  Runners can do 20 seconds of sprints with 10 second light jogging breaks.  If you don’t have a gym, you can rotate through running up and down your stairs, to squats, to pushups to crunches.

The mixture of of rest with sudden bursts of high intensity anaerobic exercise shock your metabolism into overdrive for HOURS after your done. Even if you don’t have the time/energy/stamina for a 20 minute routine, just 1 or 2 rounds of 4 minutes will shock your system.

 

GIVE IT A TRY!!!

One Response to “Day 25 – Tabata for life”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kirk Westwood, Kirk Westwood. Kirk Westwood said: Day 25 – Tabata for life http://wp.me/p1k6qH-5Q […]

Leave a Reply

