so… it’s nearly midnight

Tomorrow I have only one client and she is at 6:00am.  I should really be asleep, but life hasn’t been on my side recently when it comes to regular sleeping schedules.  So I’m laying in bed tonight trying to decide what it is I’m going to do tomorrow at 7:00am when I’m done for the day.

Then it occurred to me.  I get paid tomorrow, I essentially have the day off.  Time to go to the market and buy some veggies (as you will note in the comments of my last post, it has been pointed out I’ve been lean on the ruffage for the last few days.)

But of late, despite really liking vegetables (seriously) I have grown a touch bored with the raw/steamed presentation I’m most familiar with.  So, I’m looking for ideas.

Ways to eat veggies that neither diminishes their health value (no melting gobs of cheese on my broccoli) but makes them; new, different, exciting, fun, pick an adjective.

SHARE WITH ME!  Lets get some good, color, fiber, texture and vitamins with some veggies:  Now accepting brilliance!!!

 

7 Responses to “so… it’s nearly midnight”

  1. I was just thinking about this tonight…there has got to be some goodways to re-invent good old Stir Fry. What are things that can replace the normal sweet sauces people use? Maybe some kind of veggie oil for frying and then a fruit-juice splash after it’s served? Nothing to really flavor them a lot so much as to add a little lubrication.

    Not sure yet, but it’s something I’m gonna experiment with.

  2. Rachel Enser Says:

    My favorite vegetable side dish is lemon-garlic broccolini. This recipe is great but has too much sauce for me, so I double or triple the amount of broccolini: http://www.ezrapoundcake.com/archives/2643

    I am also a big fan of this asian-inspired chicken salad: http://www.ezrapoundcake.com/archives/2793#more-2793
    Don’t worry, it’s not sopping with mayo or anything. But, again, there is way more dressing than I need, so I usually double the amount of vegetables and serve it on a bed of lettuce.

  3. Rachel Enser Says:

    If you’re looking for recipes that are more health-nut-fantastic or cater to a limited diet, then you might like the recipe section of the Whole Foods website: http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/recipes/

  4. ROAST THEM. or grill! you can use just a little olive oil (or sesame oil or whatever) and herbs…after that, stick them in whatever you want! Paul and I have made everything from pizza to ‘fries’ with our veggies….kebabs are awesome, too…squirt lime or lemon on them before you put them on the grill!

  5. I made this (minus the celery and fennel cuz I was out) http://smittenkitchen.com/2011/02/green-bean-salad-with-pickled-red-onions-and-fried-almonds/#more-7178 and it was AWESOME.

    Also, quarter brussel sprouts – put them in a HOT pan with a tiny bit of Olive Oil and leave them for a minute or two (until they’re brown on that side, flip to the other flat side, cook til that sides brown. Test one – if they’re soft you’re good, if they’re not put water (or broth) just enough to cover the bottom of the whole pan and cover for a minute or two. Salt, Pepper, Lemon juice and another drizzle of olive oil if you need it. MMm – sooo good.

  6. My sister made some awesome kabobs. Get some lean meat and add tons of vegies then grill them all up. Yum!

  7. I agree with roasting them. Also, have you ever checked out The Kind Diet, by Alicia Silverstone. It’s all vegan/vegetarian, and you might not agree with everything in the book, but the recipes are great. Everything I’ve had in there I’ve really enjoyed (husband has, too) and the ideas are new to me – not same ol’ same ol’. Also 101cookbooks.com. Love her site for vegetarian cooking.

    This is Beth Tait from your old Studio City ward and I enjoy checking in on your blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

