Day 23 – Chocolate Flavored Cardboard

There is SO much junk food out there.  Believe it or not, I’m not actually talking about fast food and candy.  I’m talking about “diet food” made to make you think you are eating fast food and candy.  I’m going to keep this short this morning, not because I don’t have a lot to say on the subject.  But I feel the more I say about it, the less likely people will be to read the whole thing.

Names to take note: Aspartame, saccharin, acesulfame K, sucralose, they are all artificial sweeteners with a serious debate behind every single one of them.  Some say they cause cancer, some say they make you fatter, some say that they are what REALLY happened to Jimmy Hoffa.  If you are interested in the DOZENS of articles/studies/reports about these additives, please let me know, and I’ll go into some detail.

“Diet food”, specifically the stuff made to look/taste like candy is counter productive for 2 main reasons.

1) Your body seriously does not need, nor even really know what to do with the “science project” nutrition.  It is devoid of nutrients, proper calories, and anything resembling food.

2) By constantly convincing yourself you are eating candy, you are doing nothing (infact you are GREATLY HINDERING) your bodies ability to reprogram for healthy habits.

As Chris Mohr (a totally rad registered dietician and nutritionist) wrote:

You want a cookie?

Eat a cookie — occasionally.

Is a fat free, sugar free, calorie free flavored chocolate chunk piece of cardboard REALLY going to help out your desire for a cookie?

Not a chance.

Eat the real thing, on occasion, then get over it.  Fair enough?

Eating real foods is what will help you live as healthfully as possible, burn belly fat, and look and feel great!

 

4 Responses to “Day 23 – Chocolate Flavored Cardboard”

  1. Does that mean that I should throw out my econo sized bottle of MSG that I got from Fiesta? J/k

  2. here here! When I worked at the Bally’s pro-shop back in our Florida days I had a lot of free time on my hands. So I’d read the labels of a lot of the health food we sold. The shakes were chock full of sugar and calories, and the protein bars had just as much sugar and calories as a candy bar. I like the occasional protein bar to help balance out my low blood sugar when I’m in a fix but I always try to make sure I get one with a good sugar to protein combo (preferably without too much sugar or calories) but my motto is always “proceed with caution”. Part of me is also starting to wonder if a lot of our “fat-free” foods are also keeping us fat. Maybe it’s better to let yourself have some of the real stuff. Like you’ve said in the past. What it all boils down to is portion control. It’s overeating everything that is the real problem.

  3. ‘love the info. and once again Kirk I can’t believe how I am now loosing weight eating the sam e1200 calories but making sure to keep away form the sugars… I did have a small piece of REAL apple pie that my neighbor brought me. !!! It was the polite thing to do .. !! YUM YUM!!

Leave a Reply

