Day 17 – The “Who Has Time?” workout

Life can be pretty hectic.  When I’m working my non-trainer job  (film & television) there are days I spend 18 hours “on the clock”.  I know many people really do have full schedules without enough hours in the day, but getting exercise is a non-option for being healthy.  DIET WILL NOT DO IT ALONE!

The problem is, the classes at your local gym, most videos, and the average personal training session are in the 45-60 minute arena.  If you just cut them in half, you are not getting nearly enough of the prescribed workout.

Exercise

However, there is a solution:  High intensity.

The other problem, several of my clients tell me that they do the elliptical on a “high setting” for at least an hour a day.  That is great and the merits of that aren’t without note.  However, your body is going to adapt to that extremely quickly.  The solution: High intensity.

At least once a week (or everyday if its all the time you have) do a high intensity workout.  Take 5-15 minutes to stretch and warm up with some moderate cardio, then, set your stop watch.  Take 20 minutes to do a workout that is designed to destroy you.  But, don’t let yourself stop for the entire 20 minutes.  If you slow down, thats inevitable but don’t relax.

A few days ago, I did a high intensity workout where I did 10 rounds of 5 pull ups, 10 push ups and 15 squats (a crossfit exercise named “Cindy”).  The first round, cake.  The second round, a breeze.  But by rounds five and six I wanted to cry and needed to modify my pushups (to knee or “girl” pushups) just to be able to finish.  I had a 60 second break every 3 minutes, but other than that pushed straight through for 20 full minutes (5 rounds of 3 minute sets with 1 minute breaks between)

Including my warmup, less than 30 minutes.  However, probably the most muscle building intense workout I did last week. If you only have 20 minutes today, that fine, just make them 20 minutes of high intensity.

 

(there are literally dozens of GREAT, high intensity workouts that you can do at home or in a gym- if you need/want some ideas, let me know.)

4 Responses to “Day 17 – The “Who Has Time?” workout”

  1. I finished day 3 of P90X today. It takes about an hour a day but bloody hell. They make you do close to what you called the “cindy” about 30 times. If anyone asks me to pick up anything heavier than a can of soup, I don’t think I’ll be able to do it.

  2. So, here’s a question. Do you have any exercise suggestions for when I have a mono flare-up? (I still blame you for that, by the way.) I can do stretching, but when it comes to moving even walking tires me out. This lasts for two to four weeks, on average. That’s kind of a long time to go without exercise when one is trying to lose weight and be healthier.

    • Pam,

      As with any medical condition, you’ll want to consult a doctor before starting any exercise regiment.

      That having been said. You should probably look into some Yoga or mat pilates classes/tapes. They are great for strength, flexibiltiy endurance etc. But aren’t “high intensity” huff and puff, or dizzying workouts.

  3. Pam,

    The Provo library has some great intro yoga and pilates exercise tapes that I’d recommend checking out and trying. I’m able to do a lot of the exercises even when I’m pregnant and have some exercise/exertion restrictions from my doctor (and when I have absolutely NO energy, just like with mono). I’ve found that if I try to do something, even on days I feel awful, I generally feel a little better. Check with your doctor first though. Good luck!

    -Suzanne

Leave a Reply

