Prologue – January 1st 2009 – It all Began

I was never “obese”.  I was just unhealthy.  Since high school when I grew 13 inches in a little more than 14 months and the caloric consumption that required, I’d always been just a little bit heavy.  Compouning my love of food and my career of watching movies ALL DAY LONG, I wasn’t very active and the weight just kept on coming.

When I was getting married, I joined a gym determined to be the thinest, buffest, sexiest groom on the planet.  I worked out daily for about 10 days, lost a few pounds and congratulated myself by gaining them all back.  I weighed about 225lbs.

Fast forward several years.  I consistantly struggled with weight, starting (and failing) every fad diet and solution I could think of to make me the adonis I wanted to be.  My wife and I had moved several times for my work.  My  industry (film & television) had taken several hits and my 2nd beautiful daughter has just been born.  Things were not going according to my plan at all!  And to make it all worse… I now weighed 245lbs.

That's my first daughter

In my travels I had worked with both Bob Harper (The Biggest Loser) and Erik Carlson (celebrity trainer) and both of them had spoken to me about my weight and the need to get healthy.  I had listened.  But what they said seemed so far fetched that I didn’t think I could do it.

But now I had 2 little girls, a gorgeous wife and recently, no job.  I had nothing but time and an urgent need to take control of something.  So I started reading.  My daughter was born on December 3rd, which gave me a little less than a month to start the most well researched, hardest pushing New Years Resolution in history.

I told my wife of my plan thinking that at least I would have a built in cheerleader.  She instantly and emphatically told me she would have nothing to do with it (in her defense, as I mentioned, this was not my first attempt for fitness).  So I was all alone, with everything to prove and quite literally NO ONE thinking that I could do it (with a history supporting their doubt).  I read a lot that month.  Studied nutritionists, dieticians, personal trainers and the science behind every fad.  I was determined to make it work.

So January 1st 2009 I implemented what I had described as “Tier 1” of my diet plan.  I lost a little more than 10 lbs in a little less than 2 weeks.  Never in my life had I been more excited about an accomplishment.  Not only had I done it, I HAD DONE IT.  My ideas, my program, my implementation;  no fad psuedo science, just logic and nutrition.  I went through “Tier 2” and “Tier 3” of my plan and hit my nutrition plateau.  I wasn’t losing any more weight, but I was comfortably at 218lbs.

Not too long ago (197lbs-ish)

But I wasn’t okay with just that.  My goal was 210lbs bare minimum and 200lbs if I could.  So the fitness phase of my plan began.  I’ll cut to the chase here.  I made it to 194lbs.

I kept studying, took on some clients, got certified and became a personal trainer.  I have spent two years working part time in the fitness profession and loving every minute of it.

But the last few months have been a little stressful, got off the beaten path and am back to 201lbs.  At my very most fit, I still never looked like the adonis I had planned.  So now, 2 years later, a lot more experienced and definitly more researched, I am starting a new fitness plan of my own creation.  This time, I’m looking to shred fat, get strong and end at “underwear model” fit.  This blog will chronicle the next 90 days (starting Feb 1, 2011) and the transformation of me (for the 2nd time)

That's Adonis (but I want better abs... and I'll need a bigger leaf)

Leave a Reply

